Heriots Vs Melrose | Saturday 14 September | Goldenacre | Round 2 Tennent's National League Division

The second round of this year’s Tennent’s National League 1 was played on a fair and pleasant afternoon with a breeze blowing the length of the Goldenacre pitch. Playing with the wind and the sun Melrose opened the scoring, after a spell of pressure, with a David Colvine penalty from in front of the posts at 10 minutes. Eight minutes later Heriots made a fine break down the far side and, courtesy of some weak Melrose tackling, Oisin Quinn raced in for a try converted by Graham Wilson. Nine minutes short of the interval Heriots put in a series of picks and drives ending with Callum Bell diving into the left corner for an unconverted try. Then, just on the break, James Brown fielded a Heriots kick ahead on his own 22 bamboozling the Heriots chasers and defenders to run the rest of the length of the pitch to score a try to the left of the posts with Colvine’s conversion ending the half.

Half time – Heriots Blues 12 Melrose 17

Eleven minutes into the second half Melrose took a free kick, quickly, on the Heriots 10m line and spread play left for Gavin Wood to cross in the left corner leaving Colvine a difficult, but successful, conversion. Half way through the half Melrose guddled defence in the left corner allowing James Sloan to dive over for an unconverted try. Two minutes later Melrose surged to the posts and were only thwarted by a high tackle on the line which earned Finn Munro a yellow card. Many a referee would have given a penalty try, but only a penalty was awarded which Colvine duly kicked. Ten minutes from the end Heriots won a scrum 5 passing left to Craig Robertson who crashed into the left corner for the Heriots bonus point try well converted by Wilson from the touch line. The Melrose bonus point try came five minutes later when Lewis Mallin intercepted a floated Heriots pass, on the hosts 22, and danced his way past the Heriots defenders to score between the posts with Colvine’s conversion ending the scoring.

Heriots Blues 24 Melrose 34

Heriots Blues – Oisin Quinn, John Rae, Scott Robeson, Ollie Nisbet, Craig Robertson, Steven Simmers, Graham Wilson, John Lascelles, Burt Mustard, Ross Hutchison, Sean Johnstone, Callum Bell, Sholto Hunter, Max Oliver, Finn Munro. Replacements – Danny Dineen, James Sloan, Malcolm Nimmo, Innes Hill, Cammy Lineen.

Melrose – David Colvine, Lewis Mallin, Gary McWilliam, Gavin Wood, James Brown, Donald Crawford, Jack Mundell, Will Owen, Richard Ferguson, Callum Crookshank, Thomas Brown, Callum Wilde, Chris Raymond, Grant Runciman, Trystan Andrews. Replacements – Ben McLean, Sean Fisher, Gregor Lindsay, Craig Fairbairn, Douglas Crawford.

Referee – David Young. Touch judges – Michael Goldie & Ian Cooper

1 view

© 2020 by MELROSE Rugby Ltd. 

Tel: 01896822993