Melrose v Biggar 15 February 2020

  1. Melrose kicked off this Tennent’s National 1 match with the approaching Storm Denis at their backs and, after seven minutes, took the lead courtesy of a David Colvine penalty. Biggar battled into the wind and, at 23 minutes, won a scrum 5 against the head. After a series of picks and drives Richard Bassett rumbled over for the opening try converted by Andrew Jardine. Six minutes later Melrose regained the lead. Biggar knocked on and failed to secure the loose ball which was fly-hacked by Melrose with Jake Fairley collecting and making good headway before off-loading to Aidan Cross who dived into St. Mary’s Corner for the try. Colvine then kicked an excellent conversion from the touchline. Four minutes short of the interval Thomas Brown was shown a yellow card for persistent off-side infringements. Stealing a lineout overthrow 10m out, with the break imminent Bassett covered the distance to score to the left of the posts with Jardine adding the extras.

  2. Half time – Melrose 10 Biggar 14.

  3. After the interval Storm Denis exerted more control with, at times, horizontal rain. Seven minutes into the half Biggar put in a series of picks and drives ending with Chris Mulligan being credited with the try and Jardine the conversion. The Biggar bonus point try came at 58 minutes after they won a scrum 5 and passed the ball left to Euan Sanderson who sauntered between the posts. Jardine again converted. With eight minutes remaining Donald Crawford who, apparently, had been “bending the referee’s lug” all afternoon did it once too often and was shown a yellow card. Captain Richard Ferguson was then shown a red card for continuing the “discussion” and the game went to uncontested scrums. From the first Robbie Orr crossed the white-wash and shortly thereafter Ross Jackson followed suit with Jardine converting both tries.

  4. “Man of the Match” was Biggar number 8 Lewis Stewart.

  5. Melrose 10 Biggar 42

  6. Melrose – David Colvine, Aidan Cross, Gary McWilliam, Christiaan Smit, James Brown, Donald Crawford, Ethan McVicker, Jake Fairley, Ben McLean, Jack Dobie, Thomas Brown, Gregor Lindsay, Andrew Bradfield, Grant Runciman, Trystan Andrews. Replacements – Richard Ferguson, Craig Fairbairn, John Cox, Douglas Crawford, Archie Spencer.

  7. Biggar – Rory Hutton, Ross Bradford, Robbie Lavery, Conor Lavery, Rowan Stewart, Andrew Jardine, Luhann Kotze, Donald Voas, Ewan Stewart, Richard Bassett, Craig Borthwick, Ross Jackson, Chris Mulligan, Euan Sanderson, Lewis Stewart. Replacemnts – Andrew Peacock, Finn Barr, Alan Warnock, Mark Bertram, Robbie Orr.

  8. Referee – Craig Clark


© 2020 by MELROSE Rugby Ltd. 

Tel: 01896822993