Melrose v Boroughmuir 21 December 2019

It may have been cold and dull for this Tennent’s National League 1 match, but the first ten minutes of rugby were the complete opposite. With four minutes played Jack Dobie broke up the stand side and from the tackle Christian Townsend broke further towards the line before being stopped. From the tackle situation Andrew Bradfield crossed in St. Mary’s Corner for the opening try which David Colvine converted. Within a minute Mark Hare passed right to Jack Hamilton whose exquisitely crafted chip through was gobbled up by Gavin Welsh who, flirting with the touchline, crossed in the Policeman’s Corner and dotted down behind the posts with Callum Anderson converting. Three minutes later Dobie breenged again with Grant Runciman picking up the loose ball and diving in by the posts with Colvine adding the extras. The scoring then dried up until 32 minutes when Melrose, having broken up the right again, spread play wide across the face of the posts to the left where James Brown picked up a bouncing ball and spun under a Boroughmuir defender to score an unconverted try in the Church Corner.

Half time – Melrose 19 Boroughmuir 7

Boroughmuir started the second half laying siege to the Melrose line, but great Melrose defence held them at bay. With nine minutes played Townsend made another good break down the pitch and, following a series of picks and drives, Bradfield scored the Melrose bonus point try in the Town Corner with Colvine adding the extras. At 57 minutes Boroughmuir won a scrum on halfway with Hamilton breaking right on the stand side before off-loading to Welsh on the 22. The winger needed no second invitation to race in for a try converted by Anderson. Seven minutes later Hare ghosted through the Melrose defence to the posts for a try and Anderson’s conversion making it a five point game. However, Colvine widened the gap to eight points with a penalty at 71 minutes, and thus ended the scoring.

“Man of the Match” – Jack Dobie.

Melrose 29 Boroughmuir 21.

Melrose – DAVID Colvine, Aidan Cross, Gary McWilliam, Christaan Smit, James Brown, Christian Townsend, Douglas Crawford, Jake Fairley, James Johnstone, Jack Dobie, Thomas Brown, Craig Fairbairn, Andrew Bradfield, Grant Runciman, Ruairidh Lindsay. Replacements – Will Owen, John Cox, Callum Folan, Donald Crawford, Keiran Clark.

Boroughmuir – Jack Hamilton, Gavin Welsh, Greg Alexander, Mark Hare, Fin Devine, Callum Anderson, George McLean, Keir Henderson, Lewis Robinson, Tom Gracie, John Troxler, Derry McConnell, Stuart Ferguson, Fin Hepburn, Calum McDevitt. Replacements – Scott Habib, Chris Anderson, Stuart Clark, Gav Inkster, Jack Guthrie.

Referee – Gregor McIntosh.


© 2020 by MELROSE Rugby Ltd. 

Tel: 01896822993