© 2020 by MELROSE Rugby Ltd. 

Tel: 01896822993 





Melrose v Cartha Queens Park, Saturday 9 November 2019

This Tennent's National 1 match, the first played at competitive 1st XV level between these two Clubs, was played on a dry and cold afternoon. Although Melrose dominated initially it was the hosts who took, and never relinquished, the lead, at 12 minutes, with Ryan Howie crossing for a try which Wayne Burrows converted. Graham Williamson increased the Cartha lead, at 19 minutes, with Burrows adding the extras. Five minutes later Sam Harrison strode down the wing to score a try in the corner leaving Burrows a difficult, but successful, conversion. The Cartha bonus point try came four minutes short of the interval courtesy of Liam Howieson with Burrows adding the extra two points.

Half time - Cartha QP 28 Melrose 0

Within two minutes of the restart Harrison was shown a yellow card. Melrose kicked to touch and from the resulting driving maul Richard Ferguson claimed an unconverted try. Despite being a man short Cartha continued to attack with Calum Dickson scoring a brace of tries at 49 & 52 minutes, the first being converted by Burows. Seven minutes later Melrose succumbed to a push over try with Lachie Stout claiming the touch down and Burrows the conversion. Two minutes short of no-side Ethan Paterson's game was ended with a yellow card, but this did not faze the hosts who proceeded to end the game with a Thiabauld Pin try and Burrows conversion.

Cartha Queens Park 54 Melrose 5

Cartha Queens Park - Thiabauld Pin, Liam Howieson, Thomas Pourcharet, Sam Harrison, Wayne Burrows, Bosco Lafon, Marcus Goodwin, Fraser Paul, Luca Alessandri, Graham Williamson, Michael Nellaney, Calum Dickson, Ryan Howie, Michael Robertson. Replacements - Juan Phyfer, Mark Barrowman, Ethan Paterson, Lachie Stout, Anthony Lopez.

Melrose - Keiran Clark, Lewis Mallin, David Colvine, Darren King, Ethan McVicker, Donald Crawford, Douglas Crawford, Jake Fairley, Richard Ferguson, Jack Dobie, Thomas Brown, Gregor Lindsay, Callum Wilde, Callum Folan, Grant Runciman. Replacements - Logan Kirk, Sean Fisher, Ethan Deakin, Gary McWilliam, Elliot Ruthven.

Referee - Michael Milne.

1 view