Melrose v Gala 26th December, 2019 Waverley Cup

Within a minute of the start of the 2019 Waverley Cup match Gala had won a lineout 10m out on the stand side and from a cross kick by stand-off Dean Keddie the ball was picked up on the far side by Fergus Johnston who passed inside to Ruairi Howarth who ran in at the Policeman’s Corner for a try converted by Keddie. With ten minutes played Will Owen latched on to a charged down and bouncing ball to score between the posts with Keiran Clark adding the extras. Melrose were attacking the Gala line, at 23 minutes, but they were turned over with Gala breaking out of defence and racing up the far side before passing cross-field left to Ben Gill who scored an unconverted try in the Town Corner. The half ended with Euan Dods scoring at the posts from a scrum 5 leaving Keddie with a straight-forward conversion.

Half time – Melrose 7 Gala 19

Playing advantage for an offence near the Policeman’s Corner nine minutes into the second half Melrose spread the ball left ending with Aidan Cross scoring in the Town Corner and Clark kicking a difficult conversion from the touchline. At 65 minutes, receiving a pass from Dods, Howarth skilfully split the Melrose defence to score the final try which Simon Fairburn converted. With five minutes remaining Fairburn attempted to increase the Gala lead, but his penalty attempt drifted wide. This was an enthusiastic game of rugby well played by both teams with several youngsters being given, and taking, the opportunity to demonstrate their skills.

Melrose 14 Gala 26

Melrose – Keiran Clark, Archie Spencer, David Colvine, Christiaan Smit, Aidan Cross, Christian Townsend, Douglas Crawford, Jake Fairley, Will Owen, Jack Dobie, Thomas Brown, Gregpr Lindsay, Craig Fairbairn, Andrew Bradfield, Ruairidh Lindsay. Replacements – Logan Kirk, Conor Howard, Connor Russell, Callum Folan, Ethan McVicker, Donald Crawford, Gary McWilliam.

Gala – Ruairi Howarth, Fergus Johnston, Andrew Mitchell, Daniel Nicholson, Ben Gill, Dean Keddie, Mark Amos, Kyle Scott, Jack Chambers, Martin Chrystie, Robbie Irvine, Cody Roman, Josh Irvine, Angus Dun, Euan Dods. Replacements – Marius Tamosaitis, Liam Scott, Daniel Kerr, Justin Murray, Glenn McCrum, Mason Cullen, Simon Fairburn.

Referee – Sam O’Neill. Assistants – Aonghas Ryan & David Changleng.


© 2020 by MELROSE Rugby Ltd. 

Tel: 01896822993